573 Putnam Pike
Greenville, RI 02828
Phone: 401-949-3630
Fax: 401-949-0530

Encore Search:
Classic Catalog & View your patron record here

 

Hours
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thurs
9 a.m. - 8 p.m.
Friday and Saturday
9 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Sunday 1-5 (Sept.-May)

Contacts
Driving Directions
Site Map

Research Database Collection

Databases for use in the Library
Databases for use at home. You will need your Greenville Library Card Number.

Academic Search Premier
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

Alt Health Watch
This alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.

Automobile Repair Reference Center

Business and Company Resource Center  
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Business Source Premier

This is the industry's most used business research database, providing the full text for more than 8,800 serials. Business Source Premier provides full text back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

 Clinical Pharmacology

Clinical Pharmacology provides access up-to-date, concise and clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs.  

Collective Biographies:
A Greenville Public Library Research Database
created by Aaron Coutu, MLIS

Are you looking for information about a particular person, and the Library does not have enough biographies to cover your assignment's requirement? This index will allow you to see what collective biographies, or books that discuss the life stories of more than one person, contain information about your subject.

 

EBSCO Animals


Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

Electronic Books


Reference Titles
Arts and HumanitiesThrough the Eras, Videohound's Golden Movie Retriever, College Blue Book, Dictionay of American History, Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Witchcraft in America, New Catholic Encyclopedia, Plant Sciences.

(Click of Gale Virtual Reference Library for these titles)
eBooks from NetLibrary
(Study Guides, reference and classics)
Rhode Island Public Library e-zone!
Downloadable audiobooks

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Funk& Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

 
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

 
Health Source - Consumer Edition

This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 150 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Heritage Quest

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMIÆ Genealogy and Local History collection. This online database is an essential collection of unique material for both genealogical hobbyists and professionals.

Kids Research Center

LegalTrac 1980 to date
Use this database to find articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. Included are articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, and Taxation. Also included are: British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law.


Magill History Database
MagillOnHistory, produced by Salem Press, combines content from their critically acclaimed history reference sets in a fully integrated single database. This database is comprised of approximately 10,000 records, more than 1,800 historical images, charts, graphs and maps, and an index of more than 13,000 names. In addition, this database includes more than 4,000 biographical essays which examine the lives of more than 3,800 historical figures.


MasterFILE Premier

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

 

NetLibrary eBooks from
(Study Guides, reference and classics)

 Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

 

Novelist

 Novelist Grades K-8


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Thomson Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. 


Primary Search
(Click on EBSCOhost Web link)

Primary Search provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

 
Providence Journal Archives Search
Regional Business News
(Click on EBSCOhost Web link)

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.


R. I.History Index
A Greenville Public Library Research Database
created the Reference Satff

The Reference staff has created an index of subjects covered by the Periodical Rhode Island History, which is published quarterly by the Rhode Island History Society. The Greenville Public Library is indebted to the Rhode Island Genealogical Society for the the financial support that makes this database available to our community. 

Searchasaurus

Student Research Center

 

SurfRI is a sample collection of databases featured in a state wide demonstration, March 6 to April, 9. Press the SurfRI image to view information about the databases.


TOPICsearch

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 102,800 articles from more than 2,500 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals.

  World Book  

Academic Search Premier
The world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,650 serials, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

Alt Health Watch
This alternative health database provides full text for 180 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.

Automobile Repair Reference Center

Business and Company Resource Center  
Business and Company Resource Center is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals. Search this database to find detailed company and industry news and information.


Business Source Premier

 

This is the industry's most used business research database, providing the full text for more than 8,800 serials. Business Source Premier provides full text back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.

 Clinical Pharmacology

Clinical Pharmacology provides access up-to-date, concise and clinically-relevant drug monographs for all U.S. prescription drugs, hard-to-find herbal and nutritional supplements, over-the-counter products and new and investigational drugs.  

Collective Biographies:
A Greenville Public Library Research Database
created by Aaron Coutu, MLIS

Are you looking for information about a particular person, and the Library does not have enough biographies to cover your assignment's requirement? This index will allow you to see what collective biographies, or books that discuss the life stories of more than one person, contain information about your subject.

 

EBSCO Animals


Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

 

Electronic Books


Reference Titles
Arts and HumanitiesThrough the Eras, Videohound's Golden Movie Retriever, College Blue Book, Dictionay of American History, Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia, Witchcraft in America, New Catholic Encyclopedia, Plant Sciences.

(Click of Gale Virtual Reference Library for these titles)
eBooks from NetLibrary
(Study Guides, reference and classics)
Rhode Island Public Library e-zone!
Downloadable audiobooks

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

Funk& Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia

 
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

 
Health Source - Consumer Edition

This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition features searchable full text for nearly 150 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Heritage Quest

HeritageQuest Online combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMIÆ Genealogy and Local History collection. This online database is an essential collection of unique material for both genealogical hobbyists and professionals.

Kids Research Center

LegalTrac 1980 to date
Use this database to find articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. Included are articles on Federal and State Cases, Laws and Regulations, Legal Practice, and Taxation. Also included are: British Commonwealth, European Union and International Law.

Magill History Database
MagillOnHistory, produced by Salem Press, combines content from their critically acclaimed history reference sets in a fully integrated single database. This database is comprised of approximately 10,000 records, more than 1,800 historical images, charts, graphs and maps, and an index of more than 13,000 names. In addition, this database includes more than 4,000 biographical essays which examine the lives of more than 3,800 historical figures.


MasterFILE Premier

Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,950 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, 84,011 biographies, 83,472 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 192,999 photos, maps and flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

 NetLibrary eBooks
(Study Guides, reference and classics)


 Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.

 

 

Novelist

 Novelist Novelist Grades K-8

 


Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Thomson Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites. 


Primary Search

(Click on EBSCOhost Web link)

Primary Search provides full text for nearly 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. This database is updated daily on EBSCOhost.

 
Providence Journal Archives SearchRegional Business News
(Click on EBSCOhost Web link)

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.


R. I.History Index
A Greenville Public Library Research Database
created the Reference Satff

The Reference staff has created an index of subjects covered by the Periodical Rhode Island History, which is published quarterly by the Rhode Island History Society. The Greenville Public Library is indebted to the Rhode Island Genealogical Society for the the financial support that makes this database available to our community. 

Searchasaurus

Student Research Center

SurfRI is a sample collection of databases featured in a state wide demonstration, March 6 to April, 9. Press the SurfRI image to view information about the databases.


TOPICsearch

This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 102,800 articles from more than 2,500 diverse sources, including more than 1,550 full text periodicals.

World Book Online